The Office of Science is a Program Office within the Department of Energy. To view the Department's organization chart, please click here.

The Office of Science is led by a Presidentially-nominated, Senate-confirmed Director and two senior career federal Deputy Directors. Please click the organization charts links below to learn more.

Organization Charts

Science Programs Organization

The Office of Science manages its research portfolio through seven program offices:

The Science Programs organization also includes the following offices:

Operations Organization

The Office of Science is accountable for the effective stewardship and management of ten world class laboratories and employs a performance-based management and operating contract model to achieve these objectives. Each Office of Science Site Office oversees the operation of their respective laboratory:

The Operations organization includes the following offices:

Office of the Director Deputy Director for Science Programs Deputy Director for Operations